He’s Coming!

Posted: December 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

I remember my car getting broken into when I was in high school and I remember having my back pack in the car, my wallet in the glove box, and brand new clothing in shopping bags. All of this was gone when I came to my car to find the passenger side window shattered into a 1000 pieces. Now the thieves didn’t let me know that they were going to break into my car, needless to say they didn’t even let me know at what exact time they would come. I know what you’re thinking, “How inconsiderate of them”. I thought the same thing. All I knew was that my stuff was gone and I didn’t even see it coming.

This is exactly what the Bible uses to illustrate His return. It declares that He’s coming like a thief in the night. A thief never lets his victim know when he’s coming because he doesn’t want to get caught. God isn’t telling us the exact time or date either but He has given us His Son that whoever believes in Him will not perish but live forever.

Imagine the thought of Jesus coming back today. Imagine the thought of Jesus coming back within the next hour. Imagine Jesus coming back within the next ten minutes. Imagine Jesus coming back in a blink of an eye.  What would you do if you knew the exact date and time?

I have had this thought stuck in my head since yesterday and quite frankly it’s frightened me to the point of chills within my bones. Fear didn’t strike me because I was questioning my salvation, instead it struck because of all of my un-saved loved ones and all of the un-saved individuals in the world. I felt a broken heart for my un-saved family and questions to God such as “Lord will any of them perish?” and “Lord what can I do?” came to my mind.

All of this stirred up a  renewed urgency within my spirit to tell the world that Jesus lives. Even greater than that I have a renewed urgency to live my life even louder and show my family and the world that Jesus lives. My prayer is that none should perish, not even one!

I pray that the urgency for the Gospel to be spread would touch your hearts in a new way!

I Thessalonians 5:1-2 1 Now, brothers and sisters, about times and dates we do not need to write to you, 2for you know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a thief in the night.

keep it burning…

Leave a Reply

