Go!

Posted: January 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

Genesis 12:1, 4-The Lord had said to Abram “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you… v4. So Abram went, as the Lord told him…

Imagine if God asked you to leave everything behind. Imagine if He asked you to walk away from everything that you were doing right now to follow Him. I remember God asking me to make that move at a certain point in my life. I remember Him tugging at my heart to leave everything behind so that I could follow Him into what He had in store for my life. I also remember rejecting His offer. I guess you could say that I rejected His offer because I had a good thing going on by myself. I was living my life according to my theology and keeping Him in a little box that read “Break in the Event of an Emergency”.

It wasn’t until several years later that I reached rock bottom in my life and remembered the call to leave it all behind. It wasn’t until I had nothing going for me that I was able to hear the call more clearly than ever before. When I had spent the last of my energy on attempting to manipulate my life…my way…like I was some sort of clay sculptor is when I finally heard the call louder than ever before.

I remember answering that call and walking away from everything like it was just yesterday. I remember leaving everything that I had ever thought to be true behind for what lied ahead of me. I couldn’t see anything ahead of me, but I remembered that there was a promise that lay ahead.  A promise that I could not yet see, but a promise that I had heard about. That day when I left it all behind was the best thing that I could have ever done.

I think of Abraham and how God asked Him to do the very same thing. God asked Him to leave everything behind and take a journey with Him. A journey that would lead him 400 miles along a path and to a place that he had never been to before, but it would be the best move that he would ever make. He too had everything good going for him where he was when the Lord called him, but he was still obedient to the call. His life was richly blessed and so were the lives of all that came from him.

Sometimes we must leave it all behind us in order to grab what’s ahead of us. Take a step of faith this year as the Lord leads you through this journey….no matter where it might take you just GO!

keep it burning…

Leave a Reply

