They Found Him On A Bench

Posted: January 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

As I toured the Bakersfield Rescue Mission yesterday morning I came across a man sitting up on his cot in what was called the Day Room. This man seemed rather aged in years and his area was pretty messy. I noticed that he was eating lunch yet his plate looked disastrous in the sense that things were all over the place. My heart instantly sank in brokenness asking myself “what happened to this man?”, ” what brought him to this point”?, and “where is his family?”.

As I continued my tour and began to speak to the case manager he proceeded to tell me about the gentleman on the cot. He told me that they found him outside sitting on the bench on a very cold night with no jacket or warm clothing. Then he told me that they realized that he was also blind. Blind and 70 years old with no income and no one to take care of him. By this time my heart is now in a million pieces.

God has called us to proclaim the good news to the poor and to bind up the brokenhearted…I mean that’s why we’ve been filled with the Spirit so that we might be poured out as a drink offering unto the broken. I think of the story of when Jesus healed the blind man when He spit on his hands and I ask myself “Lord, could I have faith like that?”. Let it be our mission in life to live out Isaiah 61 to a broken world.

Isaiah 61:1  The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me, because the LORD has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor.

keep it burning…

Comments
  1. haizathegreat says:

    Wow, what a great opportunity to hear such a story. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how some people are unfortuante enough to be forgot or dismissed by others. How can anyone just forget a family member or a friend? At what point do they stop searching, especially for the disabled, blind and broken? So sad that humans are so flawed but how great God is that he has never once forgotten that man. Thanks for all the work you do Alberto. You’re awesome! And thanks for sharing these experiences with the world.

  2. Ryan Smithson says:

    You think about how cold some of the past evenings have been.. how cold and alone some of these human beings are… heart breaking stuff. I once heard the difference between sympathy and compassion is that sympathy is more of a feeling, compassion is sympathy that moves you to action. We have to be moved to action. It is not enough to just feel bad.. or be sorry for those who call our city streets their home. I feel like the need is so huge… like world hunger… what difference can we make that will last? That is the thing on my mind bro.. I would be interested in what you have heard and dreamed in your time in LA and now Bakersfield. It is on my heart so strong.

Leave a Reply

