His Eyes Opened on the Subway

Posted: January 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

I was riding the subway in LA this past Saturday afternoon and I sat down next to a young man with the very intentions of sharing the Gospel with him. Immediately when I sat down he began to engage in dialogue. I thought to myself, this is every evangelist’s dream, for another to engage in conversation and break the ice. As we continued I was able to find out that he was 20 years old and had attended the same high school as me.

I began to sway the conversation towards God and Christ and he all of a sudden began to preach to me. He seemed to have this pre-existing theology that he formulated himself as to who God was for Him and what role Jesus played in the equation. I felt stumped at first but the more that we conversed I was able to see that he had a form of Godliness yet denied His power. He was convinced that he knew God as he cursed and seemed to be under the influence of marijuana. I was able to speak into his life and the Spirit opened his eyes by removing the veil.

I believe that this is a glimpse of the sad and tragic truth of today. So many people believe in God, yet they deny His power. They don’t even truly know who He is. I can attest to that because I was once in that same position. There is such a deep need for us as believers to profess our faith and share the Gospel with no limits or sugar-coating. We must lived our lives like a cup of Starbucks Coffee…”Bold”!

II Corinthians 4:4 (NIV) The god of this age has blinded the minds of unbelievers, so that they cannot see the light of the gospel that displays the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.

keep it burning…

 


 

Comments
  1. Stella Rivera says:

    Very well said Alberto, So many believe without experiencing the POWER OF GOD help us Lord

Leave a Reply

