Daddy’s Arms

Posted: January 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

Today right before youth service I was feeling a bit weary and I was in our pre-service prayer time in the youth room pacing back and forth in prayer. A few minutes into prayer my wife and daughter walk into the dim lighted youth room with the loud worship music playing in the background. I saw my little girl from a distance and she saw me. When she saw me she took flight on her little two feet running as fast as she could towards me with her arms raised up high ready for me to grab her and pick her up. As soon as she got close to me she lunged into my arms and hugged me as tight as she possibly could. I honestly felt like the luckiest dad in the world to be able see my daughter so happy to see me and be held in my arms.

Jesus said for us to come to him with our weariness and burdens and He would give us rest. When Brooklyn ran into my arms today I felt like I got a glimpse of how the Lord feels when we run into His arms with all that is within us to find refuge within the grasps of his arms. How awesome that the Lord beckons us to come to Him in our weariness and He in exchange gives us rest. No matter what difficulties or challenges you might be facing today run into the arms of your loving Father who is waiting to embrace you with His calming love.

Matthew 11:28 (NIV)“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

keep it burning…

Leave a Reply

