The Gym looks like the Church

Posted: January 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

I went to the gym yesterday afternoon for the first time in many years. When I walked past the counter and up the stairs into the actual training room I felt a bit intimidated with all of the other people working out on the machines looking like they were born in the gym. Everyone seemed to know how to use the machines and how to stretch and they looked like they knew where everything was. My intimidation grew tremendously as I continued to walk around and I almost felt like leaving as I thought to myself “I have no idea where to start”. After a few minutes of stretching I was determined to get started and just jump right into it. I was able to push the intimidation aside and get going. I’m not going to lie though, it was a challenge. I just wish that someone would have come up to me and said “Hey, can I show you how to work out and use the machines?”.

My experience yesterday really got me thinking this morning about how new guest feel in a church when they walk in. Imagine the intimidation that new church attenders must feel when they park their cars in a full parking lot and then enter the doors into the church. I mean right when you walk in all you see is people hustling and bustling around who look like they know what they’re doing. I can only imagine the level of intimidation that they must feel. That’s why people determine whether or nor they’re going to return to a church only in the distance from their car to the church foyer not by the message.

If you’re a regular church attendee, make it a point to identify new church attenders and help walk them through their first steps and show them how to use the equipment, befriend them, and invite them to join you.

Matthew 5:47 (NIV) And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that?

keep it burning…

Comments
  1. Stella Rivera says:

    So true as Christians we need to be better at this be blessed.

Leave a Reply

